Mambazham Morkuzhambu ( Mango Dahi Kadi)

I know I’m posting after a really long time. Was super busy with my exams and yes!! it finally got over 😀

So I was putting a lot of thought on what should be my next blog post and I decided on crostino and overnight oat meal and everything in between.
I realized it would not be fair to make something elite or out of the world just to have it up here on my blog. Hence I decided I will try posting my everyday simple recipes. It may not be extra ordinary stuff but I’d at least stay true to the idea of spreading love 🙂

And in this simple journey of mine, I invite and hope that each and every person who reads this or is a follower of my blog, will join me in spreading love through food 😀

 

About today’s post.. mambazham is mango and morkuzhambu is an authentic south Indian gravy eaten with rice and a dry curry made with dal and cluster beans.

Since mango season is coming to an end, my mom asked me to make this mango morkuzhambu or dahi kadi as known in the North of India.

IMG_20170531_125631_265

Recipe:-

Mango Morkuzhambu (dahi kadi)

Ingredients:

  1. Mango (ripe) –  1 1/2
  2. Buttermilk – 350 ml
  3. Turmeric powder – 1/2 teaspoon
  4. Red chili – 2
  5. Fenugreek – 1 teaspoon
  6. Salt – to taste
  7. Jaggery – 1 teaspoon
  8. Rice – 1 tablespoon
  9. Grated coconut – 3/4th cup
  10. Asofoetida – 1/2 teaspoon
  11. Curry leaves – as per liking
  12. Mustard seeds – 1 teaspoon
  13. Oil – 2 teaspoon

Method:

  • Soak one spoon of rice in water for about 10 to 15 minutes.
  •  In a pan (kadhai) add mango pieces, half glass water and turmeric powder. Once this mixture boils, keep it aside and make a fine paste by mashing the mango pieces. IMG-20170531-WA0006
  • In a small pan heat a teaspoon of oil and add fenugreek (methi) seeds and red chilies. Once the fenugreek seeds turn dark brown or red, take it off the flame.  IMG_20170531_131103_018
  • Add it in a mixer along with the soaked rice and about 3/4th cup of grated coconut. Grind it until it is a smooth paste (adding buttermilk instead of water at this step to smooth-en the paste)  IMG_20170531_131312_843
  • Over medium flame, place back the kadhai with mango and add this paste and the remaining buttermilk. Give it a boil or two.
  • In the small pan heat a teaspoon of oil, add mustard seeds, asafoetida and curry leaves and add it to the morkuzhambu (kadi) once the mustard seeds splutter.

Yes!! It is this simple. Hardly takes 30 minutes to make including the prep time. Plus it is super lite and should be taken with rice.

IMG_20170531_125745_285

It is a traditional South Indian delicacy made during summer.

The dry curry I mentioned earlier is Parupu Usili with cluster beans.. Parupu is the tamil word for daal.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Mambazham Morkuzhambu ( Mango Dahi Kadi)

Leave a Reply

